What I’m Buying

by Ashley, Marketing

I’m lucky enough to live in Madison, Wisconsin, where we enjoy our very own SERRV Store! Normally I get to the SERRV Store a few times a month, but unfortunately, it’s been too long since my last visit and my list is getting long. Here are the top 3 things I want to pick up this weekend for my much-needed shopping trip.

$19 for 750ml bottle, $7.50 for 250ml bottle

Sindyanna Olive Oil: You have tried this, haven’t you? This olive oil is delicious and I use it for everything. I drizzle it over roasted sweet potatoes, mix it with balsamic for salad dressing, dunk chunks of bread in it, and saute everything in it. Oh, and you know those summer evenings when it’s too hot to cook? I love to make a big caprese salad drizzled with lots of Sindyanna Olive Oil. It’s a light and satisfying meal that supports your local and global farmers! 

At $19 for a big 750ml bottle, this olive oil is maybe a little more expensive than the run of the mill stuff you find at your local grocery store, but it’s totally worth it. It’s so good; plus Sindyanna strives to build bridges between Arabs and Jews to create a peaceful alternative in their land while also providing women with much needed work. You can’t go wrong!

Melon Ceramic Condiment Tray: I’ve been eyeing this adorable tray since we first began carrying it. It’s bright, it’s colorful, and it’s super utilitarian. My husband and I love taco nights, which we sometimes have twice a week. This tray would work perfectly for sour cream, salsa, guac! Or hummus, tzatziki, feta. Or for an ice cream dessert, how about sprinkles, hot fudge, coconut?

Melon Bowls Set, $55, Melon Condiment Tray, $45

Plus, this tray matches our Melon Bowls Set, which I received as a wedding gift. And let me tell you, these dishes are sturdy! I’m clumsy and I tend to bang our dishes around. I’ve chipped very new glasses and plates from a major retailer that shall remain nameless. However, my Melon Bowls have taken some major abuse and they still look brand new! No chips, no cracks, nada.

Finally, I need some Just Coffee! Just Coffee is a great 100% fair trade coffee roaster that is passionate about fair trade, building sustainable economies, and being politically involved both locally and globally. Plus, they roast their beans here in Madison. I love African Sunrise and Hope & Justice.

How about you? Are you doing any fair trade shopping this weekend??

One thought on “What I’m Buying”

  1. I love this olive oil! The Ten Thousand Villages in Mechanicsville, PA use to carry it. The only downside is once you switch to the good olive oil you’ll never want to go back to the cheap stuff! Knowing where your food comes from and how it positively impacts the community makes it worth a few extra dollars.

Leave a Reply

